Review: Solitaire

Facts

TITLE: Solitaire | AUTHOR: Alice Oseman | NUMBER OF PAGES: 392 | GENRE: Young Adult | PUBLISHED: July 31st 2014| PUBLISHER: Harper Collins Children’s Books| PRICE: 8,49 € | ISBN: 978-0007559220|

About?In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.
-goodreads

Reading Time

Different, touching and deep

Alice Oseman debut novel is impressive. The author is talented about writing for young people. The fears, desires and longings of growing up is so well written down. I love how the characters interact naturally. The conversations are a good mix of fun and deep thoughts. I loved looking into Toris head and understanding how hard it is to figure out what personality is living in oneself.

But books–they’re different. When you watch a film, you’re sort of an outsider looking in. With a book–you’re right there. You are inside. You are the main character.

The difficulty of going through life and fighting against it, not to be influenced or changed by others and always to stand by yourself and remain true to your character is brilliantly portrayed by Alice Oseman. It’s hard to figure out who you are while everyone else thinks they already know better. People want to be outstanding, special and at the same time normal and not alone. Figuring out who you are and what you want during the hardest time of your life is the biggest challenge everyone has to face: Growing up.

I don’t want people to be worried about me. There’s nothing to worry about. I don’t want people to try and understand why I’m the way I am, because I should be the first person to understand that. And I don’t understand yet. I don’t want people to interfere. I don’t want people in my head, picking out this and that, permanently picking up the broken pieces of me.

Being a teenager is one of the most difficult times in life. Trying to be who you are and not feeling alone is a difficult task to handle. No one can see the deepest thoughts you have to handle. The darkest times you have to face. Everyone is busy caring for their own life that they don’t see or care for the others. Until someone extraordinary appears: Micheal Holden. He is the craziest, loveliest and most special personality who I ever read about. I love him. I love how Alice Oseman show how everyone reacts around him and the way he shows that he doesn’t care. He wants to be who he is no matter what. And I love the message the authos is spreading. So very important.

There’s a time and a place for being normal. For most people, normal is their default setting. But for some, like you and me, normal is something we have to bring out, like putting on a suit for a posh dinner

Result

A book about personality, the importance about staying who you are and find the best friends in the world who are worth fighting for.

 

LoveSarah

Kommentar verfassen

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

WordPress.com-Logo

Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Google Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Twitter-Bild

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Facebook-Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s