Review: Loveless

Facts

TITLE: Loveless| AUTHOR: Alice Oseman | NUMBER OF PAGES: 435 | GENRE: Young Adult | PUBLISHED: July 9th 2020 | PUBLISHER: Harper Collins Children’s Books| PRICE: 8,49 € | ISBN: 9780008244125|

About?

The fourth novel from the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman – one of the most authentic and talked-about voices in contemporary YA.

It was all sinking in. I’d never had a crush on anyone. No boys, no girls, not a single person I had ever met. What did that mean?

Georgia has never been in love, never kissed anyone, never even had a crush – but as a fanfic-obsessed romantic she’s sure she’ll find her person one day.

As she starts university with her best friends, Pip and Jason, in a whole new town far from home, Georgia’s ready to find romance, and with her outgoing roommate on her side and a place in the Shakespeare Society, her ‘teenage dream’ is in sight.

But when her romance plan wreaks havoc amongst her friends, Georgia ends up in her own comedy of errors, and she starts to question why love seems so easy for other people but not for her. With new terms thrown at her – asexual, aromantic – Georgia is more uncertain about her feelings than ever.

Is she destined to remain loveless? Or has she been looking for the wrong thing all along?

Goodreads

Reading Time

Important, humorous and profound.

Every teenager should read this book. I mean it. Alice Oseman tells a story about growing up and finding out about sexuality, love, romance and the importance of friendship. Georgia is looking for love. She doesn’t unterstand the way she feels or rather not feels at all. Alice Oseman takes us along Georgias journey through finding everything out about herself. She makes mistakes. And this might be the main reason I love Alice Osemans books. Her protagonists are always realistic and imperfect. Georgia is a normal girl looking for answers. She is young and doesn’t have all the answers. She is trying things out. Which is what live is about: Making mistakes and learning with them.

Give your friendships the magic you would give a romance. Because they’re just as important. Actually, for us, they’re way more important.

Loveless is not only referring to the main character Georgia. It also tells the story of all of her friends. Alice Oseman is great at creating a story which is not focusing on one person alone. In most books the side characters appear to be decorations. At the end of the book they always remain shallow and fall into oblivion. But Alice Oseman thinks through every detail and not only describes the other characters but let them live for real. Every single added person rounds the story up and fills it with more life and importance. Allthough the reader gets to know a lot about Georgias friends, their problems and feelings, it doesn’t feel overloaded.

I’ve learnt some Things. Like the way friendship can be just as intense, beautiful and endless as romance. Like the way there’s love everywhere around me – there’s love for my friends, there’s love for my paintings, there’s love for myself.

Through the book I noticed that I didn’t know anything about the education system of Great Britain. The insight of the collage life has been so interesting. It’s a shame we don’t have a real campus life with different social groups and activities. I love the idea living with a lot of people with similar interests. College delivers so many options to get to live different lifestyles and opportunities to get to know yourself better.

Result

This book reflects the importance of the love within friendship.

LoveSarah

Rezension: Charlie and Nick

Facts

TITLE: Nick and Charlie | AUTHOR: Alice Oseman | NUMBER OF PAGES: 120 | GENRE: Young Adult | PUBLISHED: July 16th 2015 | PUBLISHER: Harper Collins Children’s Books| PRICE: 8,49 € | ISBN: 9780008147877|

About?

CHARLIE: “I have been going out with Nick Nelson for two years. He likes rugby, Formula 1, dogs, the Marvel universe, the sound felt-tips make on paper, rain and drawing on shoes. He also likes me.”

NICK: “Things me and Charlie Spring do together include: Watch films. Sit in the same room on different laptops. Text each other from different rooms. Make out. Make food. Make drinks. Get drunk. Talk. Argue. Laugh. Maybe we’re kind of boring. But that’s fine with us.”

Everyone knows that Nick and Charlie are the perfect couple – that they’re inseparable. But now Nick is leaving for university, and Charlie will be left behind at Sixth Form. Everyone’s asking if they’re staying together, which is a stupid question – they’re ‘Nick and Charlie’, for God’s sake!

But as the time to say goodbye gets inevitably closer, both Nick and Charlie question whether their love is strong enough to survive being apart. Or are they delaying the inevitable? Because everyone knows that first loves rarely last forever…
Goodreads

Reading Time

The authors books are so very different about the main topics and the storys she writes about. Still the books have one thing in common: Alice Oseman writes about young adults thoughts and problems. Mental health, sexuality, the fear about the very own future and the pressure weighting on their shoulders.

Why would anyone just end a relationshop because it’s got to go long distance for a bit?
– Charlie, p.72

Nick and Charlie are one of those rare sweet innocent couples. They are struggling about one thing that is bothering a lot of teenage couples standing on the edge to take the next big step in life: College. Nick is ready to go to college. He is very excited about this new stage of life. Charlie on the other hand is upset about Charlie leaving. He is worried about wether their relationship will live through long distance.

Nick and Charlie is a Novella containing many emotions, a short story and important messages in just a few pages.

Result

As usual I love to recommend everything Alice Oseman writes oder draws. Her storys are lovely, deep and ready to soak you in.

LoveSarah

Bookhaul Berlin: Wichtige Bücher und Graphic Novels

In Berlin besuche ich wahnsinnig gerne die gewaltige Buchhandlung Dussmann. Es ist ein Kulturkaufhaus, in dem sich über mehrere Etagen ein unglaubliches Büchersortiment erstreckt. Anziehend wirkt dabei vor allem der Umfang der englischen Abteilung: Es ist ein ganzer Gebäudekomplex, der dazu einlädt, definitiv länger zu bleiben und zu schmökern. Dabei habe ich zwei Schmuckstücke entdeckt, die mir zuvor nicht einmal auf Instagram begegnet sind und die ich sofort kaufen musste.  „Bookhaul Berlin: Wichtige Bücher und Graphic Novels“ weiterlesen

Rezension: Heartstopper 1 & 2

Fakten

Titel: Heartstopper Bd. 1 & 2 | Autorenname: Alice Oseman| Seitenanzahl: 608 | Verlag: Balzer + Bray| Preis: 11,19 € + 10,49 € Taschenbuch | ISBN: 978-0062652669 | Sprache: Englisch | Erscheinungstermin: 07. Februar 2019 |
Erworben: Selbst gekauft


Inhalt

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between – for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Charlie and Nick are at the same school, but they’ve never met … until one day when they’re made to sit together. They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn’t think he has a chance.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is more interested in Charlie than either of them realised.

Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

‚Absolutely delightful. Sweet, romantic, kind. Beautifully paced. I loved this book.‘ RAINBOW ROWELL, author of Carry On

‚The queer graphic novel we wished we had at high school.‘ Gay Times

This is the first volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.
– Amazon


Lesezeit

Zuckersüß, wunderschön und so wichtig.

Diese Graphic Novels sehe ich bereits seit geraumer Zeit auf Instagram kursieren, immer wieder mit ausdrücklichen Empfehlungen. Und das, wie es sich herausstellte, zurecht. Diese Geschichte war so, so schön. Herzerwärmend, süß, zärtlich umarmend. Einfach wundervoll. Und gleichzeitig so, so wichtig.

You can’t tell whether people are gay by what they look like. And gay or straight aren’t the only two options. Anyway, it’s very rude to speculate about people’s sexuality.
– Heartstopper | Alice Oseman | page 204

Der Zeichenstil hat mir sehr zugesagt. Die Szenen wurden entsprechend der Atmosphäre umgesetzt und haben stets die richtigen Gefühle in mir ausgelöst. Der Bezug zur Wirklichkeit mit Chatverläufen und die Umsetzung dieser Unterhaltungen hat in mir stets ein Grinsen ausgelöst.
Vor allem jedoch sind mir die Charaktere ans Herz gewachsen. So liebevoll, unschuldig, gutherzig und niedlich habe ich selten eine Geschichte um zwei Liebende erfahren dürfen. Ich habe die Seiten verschlungen, konnte nicht genug von ihren Gedanken, ihrer Zuneigung und Entwicklung bekommen.
Allen voran mochte ich die vorsichtige und langsame Entwicklung, mit der die Geschichte an den Leser herangeführt wurde und so realitätstreu wirkte. Das zögerliche und verunsicherte verliebt-sein. Dieses Kribbeln und die Ungewissheit, die gleichzeitig auch etwas Aufregung in einem auslöst. Erste Liebe in kleinen Schritten, so fühlte es sich an. Und all das in einem Setting, was zum Kuscheln und Wohlfühlen einlädt.
Alice Oseman hat alle Facetten dargestellt: Die schönen, jedoch auch die grausamen Wirklichkeiten, die auf zwei Jungs treffen, die sich lieben. Sowohl Verständnis, Freude, als auch Hass und Ausgrenzung wurden verdeutlicht. Dieser Punkt war mir sehr wichtig: Es soll nicht untergraben werden, dass es immer noch ein Thema ist und immer noch an Aufklärung bedarf. Doch gleichzeitig hat sie die überwiegende Zeit hinweg wunderbar verdeutlicht wie schön und großartig Liebe sein kann und obendrein wie wichtig die richtigen Freunde und Unterstützung von Zuhause sind.


Fazit

So wunderschön! Eine absolute Herzensgeschichte, die ich wirklich jedem in die Hand drücken und empfehlen möchte. Mit offenen Augen, Ohren und Gedanken zeichnet und schreibt Alice Oseman diese Graphic Novel, für mehr Verständnis, Toleranz und vor allem Liebe. Denn Liebe ist Liebe und das wird hier so schön geschrieben und mit großartigen Szenen und Gedanken verdeutlicht. Gerade hinsichtlich der Debatte um Kategorisierung und Schubladendenken hat sie ein deutliches Zeichen gesetzt. Must-Read!

Soulmate

Weitere Rezensionen

Ivy Booknerd


LoveSarah